

December 1, 2021

Dear Friend of Simmaron,

2021 was a transformative year for our Foundation. We are enormously grateful to donors, study participants and scientific collaborators who have made our progress possible. We are also thankful to the clinical staff we support, who continue to provide extraordinary access to healthcare for patients in need.

We began 2021 by continuing to deliver no cost community testing for COVID-19, supporting new vaccine delivery, and pursuing investigations aimed to understand the pathophysiology of Long-Haul COVID-19. We advanced our ME/CFS collaborations under the NIH center grants at Columbia and Cornell Universities, our treatment studies - especially documenting responders to Ampligen and IV therapies - and our autoimmunity and EBV collaborations. These projects were not only a critical response to the needs of our community, but more importantly, they provided the necessary substrate for deeper investigations to understand both ME/CFS and Long-Haul COVID at the molecular level.

On the clinical level, our Scientific Advisor Dr. Daniel Peterson participated in the U.S. ME/CFS Clinician Coalition's work to publish consensus clinical guidance for the medical community to expand access to experienced, evidence based medical care to more patients.

Our team is the only clinical team to be active during both the Lake Tahoe outbreak of ME/CFS and the COVID-19 pandemic, now with biological samples from both. As the similarities between longCOVID and ME/CFS continue to emerge, the work we do with our collaborators has the potential to breakthrough.

This is why in April 2021, Simmaron Research opened the Research and Development Laboratory based in Waukesha, Wisconsin under the direction of Dr. Avik Roy, Simmaron Research's new Chief Scientific Officer and Dr. Gunnar Gottschalk, our Executive Director and longtime research director. This laboratory allows Simmaron to leverage Dr. Daniel Peterson's unmatched clinical expertise and biobank containing thousands of samples, with Dr. Roy's expertise in discovery of pathways and treatments in neurological disease, and Dr. Gottschalk's special combination of clinical and laboratory experience in post-infectious disease research. In the last 6 months, the team has published two manuscripts outlining a potential biomarker for ME/CFS, submitted a highly competitive investigator-initiated grant proposal to the NIH, and developed important new collaborations, including one with the University of Wisconsin animal research facility. This collaboration will allow the scientists to translate their findings from human samples collected from both ME/CFS and Long-Haul COVID patients into animal models of both diseases. This type of basic research has been historically neglected in ME/CFS; however, it is the only way in which novel therapeutics can be developed and assessed for efficacy and safety.

This year gave Simmaron an opportunity to attract a recognized scientist from an adjacent field of research - Parkinson's and Alzheimer's diseases – fulfilling a critical need to expand the circle of ME/CFS investigators.

Our projects for the coming year include developing a mouse model for post-exertional malaise and fatigue in ME/CFS, identifying interventions for POTs in ME/CFS and long-haul COVID, studying autophagy dysfunction in both diseases, and investigating diagnostics in pathways that are disrupted in ME/CFS and long-haul COVID patients, all new lines of scientific inquiry.

We have forged world-class collaborations, published more than 20 papers characterizing subsets and immunological impairments, lead the field in treatment data, and now we are adding basic research capacity to examine treatment pathways. The foundation is uniquely suited to contribute to the study of both ME/CFS and Long-Haul COVID with your support.

Thank you for being the foundation of our team and the motivation for our work. You can contact us at (800) 865-0428, <u>connect@simmaron.com</u>, or visit our new website at <u>www.simmaronresearch.com</u>.

Sincerely,

Jan B aunstre

Jan Armstrong Chairman

(da hay mille

Courtney Miller President of the Board